February 1, 2010

  • The Catcher in the Rye


     J.D.Salinger 
    20100129k0000e030037000p_size5   dean-james-james-dean-1192705 James Dean

       He was gone 27 Jan for 91 years old …( He was born 1919 at Manhattan
       in New York..It was just world war-1 finished…).. His novel “The Catcher
       in the Rye ” was published 1951 and selled 65million books untill now…..
       I haven’t ever read his novel yet..but I’m interested about why “The catcher
       in the Rye ” was called bible of young boy and why some of christian hate
       this novel..so I tryed search about review of this novel and share one of
       them here ..

       He wrote this novel at 31years old age..He came back from soldier at
       Normandy operation and enter to mental hospital for care to broken heart
       by war…He made time slip his mind at 16 years old boy…detail is..hero Holden 
       left his boarding school for trouble reasons..and descrived his mind during tow
       days happnning threw on the way road of come back home .. finaly, he speak
       this with his sister when arrived at home…

            ” I’d like to be Catcher in the rye…there are many kids playing
              in the wild rye..nobdy of adult there except of me…
              I save to child who will fall over a precipice ..because they
               don’t notice precipice with playing in the Rye..” 

       It was ” Teen Ager appear ” at times of ’50 …
       Boy Holden encountered many bogus people include of teacher..his words
       that satirize to these people make catch reader’s heart who feel alienated
       of teen ager…and time is welcome to James Dean by ” Rebel without a
       Cause ” 1955..( producer Elia kazan offer to make movie of the Catcher in 
       the Rye after produced ” A Street Car Named Desire 1951 ” and “East of
       Eden 1954″.. but Salinger seems declined..)

       Appearance of James Dean made people for discovered ” Teen Ager ” !
       People recognized as baby pile up age one after another and become adult
       until then..however, people become aware very mysterious time of ” Teen
       Ager “  on the way of adult from child by appearance of James Dean..

       It’s not sin as person who feel sensitive from the circumference…
       then he is spoiled from society but It must be blamed society more
       than sensitive people…however, society is constructed by un-sensitive
       people in many case ….

       Anyway, I understand this novel’s fascinate …It don’t give answer and
       joint thought or trouble and heal to pain or weight…and give mind of
       “  Only this person understand to me in the world ” to boy who feel
       loneliness as nobody don’t understand to my heart…. 

       
     

Comments (3)

  • I haven’t read the book either but I have seen James Dean in ‘Rebel Without a Cause.’ Being a ‘teenager’ can be good or bad, depending on the family situation.

  • I bought this book because I had heard that a lot of criminally minded people were found to have a copy.  I wanted to know what was in it that attracted that kind of audience.  I read the first several chapters but lost interest because I couldn’t quite grab the feeling of the story. 

    There is another book with which many Christians disagree.  I am a Christian and was able to look beyond the words into the story.  It is to this day one of my favorite books…”Stranger in a Strange Land’ by Robert Heinlein.  Heinlein is known best for his works in science fiction and indeed the shallow story of this book is science fiction.  It is about a young earthling stranded on Mars as an infant.  Raised in Martian ways by Martians.   Then he was “rescued” and brought back to earth.  Here he saw mankind from a different perspective…an outsider looking in…and a lot of the things he saw are almost as ridiculous as he saw them when you look at it totally objectively.

    I think you are open enough to look at a diamond from all sides and might enjoy the book as I did. I recommended it to my little friend from Hong Kong and she saw what i saw. ~ Mom

  • I was sad to hear of Salinger’s passing, though he lived a ripe old age. He was a wonderful writer. “Catcher In The Rye” was one of my favourite books that we read back in school. I still have yet to see any of the James Dean movies. It’s too bad Salinger refused a movie to be made about his book.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *